NAMSS Scholarships & Awards

NAMSS offers a number of scholarship and awards designed to advance studies or to assist with attendance to NAMSS or State educational offerings. Members must complete the NAMSS Education Scholarship application by June 15 to be considered for Summer/Fall awards and by December 15 to be considered for Winter/Spring awards


Leadership Award: The Leadership Award is given to a physician or healthcare executive who has demonstrated support for NAMSS or for the activities and role of the medical services professional. Only NAMSS members are permitted to submit names for nomination. The deadline to submit a nomination is June 15.


Leadership Award Winners +

  • 2018 Dr. Barton Hill
  • 2017: Dr. David L. Leader, Jr.
  • 2016: Dr. Bert Mandelbaum
  • 2015: Dr. John F. Breen
  • 2014: Dr. Stephen Hill
  • 2013: Dr. G. Mark Montgomery
  • 2012: Dr. Thomas Mydler
  • 2011: Dr. Kathleen Kelly
  • 2010: Dr. Carol S. Vanetti
  • 2009: Dr. Samuel D. Evans (Retired)
  • 2008: Dr. Robert Provencher
  • 2007: Dr. Raymond Sullivan


Golden Key Award: The Golden Key Award is bestowed upon a NAMSS certificant who demonstrates a strong commitment to professional growth as well as enthusiastic support of the NAMSS certification programs. Candidates must exemplify the NAMSS Certificants’ Code of Ethics and demonstrate their dedication to certification by sharing knowledge, fostering education opportunities, and encouraging personal and professional growth through continued self-improvement and applying current advancements in the profession. The deadline to submit a nomination is June 15.


Golden Key Award Winners +

  • 2018      Karen Reed-Coffman, MBA, CPCS. CPMSM
  • 2017      Janice Swan, CPCS, CPMSM
  • 2016      Angela Stokes-Middleton, CPCS, CPMSM
  • 2015      Merella Schandl, BS, CPCS, CPMSM
  • 2014      Becky Boyrie, CPMSM
  • 2013      Susan Manion-Galloway, BS, CPCS, CPMSM
  • 2012      Janet Wilson, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2011      Patricia McCurdy, CPCS, CPMSM
  • 2010      Anne Roberts, CPCS, CPMSM
  • 2009      Arlene Becton, CPCS, CPMSM
  • 2008      Paula Hickman, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2007      Glenda Shaffer, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2006      Beckie Watson, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2005      Janice Sohn, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2004      Kathryn Enchelmayer, CPCS, CPMSM
  • 2003      Cheryl L. Schilke, RN, CPMSM
  • 2002      Gloria Aronoff, CMSC, CPCS
  • 2001      Suzette Pulliam, CMSC, CPCS


Joan Covell-Carpenter Award: The Joan Covell-Carpenter Award (in honor of Joan Covell-Carpenter who was one of the founders of NAMSS) is presented annually for an article written by a member and published in Synergy. The deadline to submit a nomination is June 15


Joan Covell-Carpenter Award Winners +

  • 2018 Suzanne Cummings, CPCS & Molly Frankwick | How the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact Affects MSPs
  • 2017: Kathy Matzka, CPMSM, CPCS | Is it Time to Rewrite the Healthcare Quality Improvement Act of 1986?
  • 2016: Suzanne Cummings, CPCS & Kari Winder | Navigating the MOC Maze
  • 2015: Vicki Searcy: Standardization Versus the Art of Credentialing
  • 2014: Amy Meyer, CPCS| Improving Processes and Results Through Collaboration
  • 2013: Dorothy Zelenik, CPCS, CPMSM| Credentialing with the Lights Out
  • 2012: Bonnie Conley, CPCS| Preparing NAMSS for the Next Generation of MSP s Through the Use of Technology
  • 2011: Marita Hattem, CPMSM| Remember Tenerife
  • 2010: Joanne Rigsbee, CPMSM| Medical Staff Mergers
  • 2009: Rita Schwab, CPCS, CPMSM| Ugly Truth About Credentialing -Part 1 & 2
  • 2008: Dennis Brown, CPMSM, CPCS| What I Learned from a Recent Fair Hearing
  • 2007: Frances Ponsioen, CPCS, CPMSM| Thank You
  • 2006: Anne Roberts, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2005: Linda Haack, MHA, CPHQ
  • 2004: Amy Niehaus, CPMSM, CPCS, MBA
  • 2003: Marlene Fenoglietto
  • 2002: Lynn Buchanan, CMSC, CPCS and Christine Mobley, CMSC, CPCS
  • 2001: Madeline Schneikart, CMSC


ICON Award: The ICON (Inspirational Commitment to the Organization NAMSS) Award is presented to an individual or group who has demonstrated success in heightening awareness of NAMSS and elevating the esteem of, the medical services profession. The award may be presented annually. NAMSS Board members may not nominate recipients for this award. The deadline to submit a nomination is June 15.


ICON Award Winners +

  • 2013: Sara Reed, CPCS & Samantha McMahon, Logistics Health Incorporated
  • 2012: Wisconsin Association Medical Staff Services
  • 2010: Debbie R. Woods, CPCS, CPMSM
  • 2005: Rebecca Cochran, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2004: CAMSS - Ask Me What I Do