The Gold Standard for the Medical Services Profession

Go for gold and demonstrate your expertise and prowess as a gatekeeper of patient safety. NCCA accredited since May 6, 2008, NAMSS certifications are the only accredited credentials for the medical services profession.

Certified Provider Credentialing Specialist (CPCS®)
for professionals specializing in credentialing, privileging and provider verifications

Certified Medical Services Management (CPMSM®)
for professionals with managerial roles and responsibilities

What Is NCCA Accreditation?

NCCA BadgeBecoming NAMSS certified has reached beyond NAMSS and our profession. NAMSS is an NCCA Accredited Program — accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies, an impartial, third-party that set the standards for certification program practices and administration. By holding an accredited certification, you demonstrate to your employer, the MSP community, and to yourself, that you have the skills and knowledge required to complete your job as defined by the leading authority in the credentialing industry. 

NCCA Accredited Programs are in compliance with the NCCA Standards for Accreditation of Certification Programs in the following areas:

  • Purpose, Governance, and Resources
  • Responsibilities to Stakeholders
  • Assessment Instruments 
  • Recertification
  • Quality Assurance
  • Maintaining Accreditation

Who Issues NCCA Accreditations? 

I.C.E.Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE) is the governing association and leader in the credentialing industry, which develops standards for certification and certificate programs and gathers information and research on certification trends, testing development, standards and delivery, as well as serving as a resource hub for the credentialing community. ICE issues the NCCA program accreditations.

We're in good company! View the complete list of NCCA Accredited Certification Programs.

Who Develops the NAMSS Certification Programs?CCN

The Certification Commission of NAMSS (CCN) uses the standards set forth by the NCCA and ICE to develop and administer the CPCS and CPMSM credential examinations.

Serving the community for over 40 years, the CCN is the independent certifying body of NAMSS, which is responsible for establishing policies and procedures that govern NAMSS certification and recertification programs, as well as coordinating test development activities in accordance with NCCA standards. 

CCN members are not NAMSS instructors or NAMSS staff. They are MSPs and experts in their field who feel passionately about developing benchmarking standards for the profession. The CCN maintains the integrity of the examination process by ensuring its independence from organization operations and that at least one commission seat is held by a public member as the voice of the public certification stakeholders.

Learn more about CCN and how you can get involved

Validate your role as a proficient gatekeeper of patient safety by becoming NAMSS certified!

Get Started Today

NOTICE: As a reminder, NAMSS is no longer mailing printed paper certificates. Digital badges and a PDF certificate are available via Credly for new and renewal certificants. Learn more.


CPCS® and CPMSM® are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office as service marks of National Association Medical Staff Services.