Leadership Award Certification Impact Award ICON Award
  Joan Covell-Carpenter Award  

Applications for NAMSS 2023 Awards are now Open! 

Deadline for all applicants will be Wednesday, June 28, 2023

Leadership Award 

The Leadership Award is given to a physician or healthcare executive who has demonstrated support for NAMSS or for the activities and role of the medical services professional. Only NAMSS members are permitted to submit names for nomination. 

Leadership Award Nominee Submission

Leadership Award Winners 

  • 2022    Yanina Purim-Shem-Tov
  • 2021    Dr. Kevin Baill
  • 2020    Hugh Greeley
  • 2019     Ramy Hanna
  • 2018     Dr. Barton Hill
  • 2017     Dr. David L. Leader, Jr.
  • 2016     Dr. Bert Mandelbaum
  • 2015     Dr. John F. Breen
  • 2014     Dr. Stephen Hill
  • 2013     Dr. G. Mark Montgomery
  • 2012     Dr. Thomas Mydler
  • 2011      Dr. Kathleen Kelly
  • 2010     Dr. Carol S. Vanetti
  • 2009     Dr. Samuel D. Evans (Retired)
  • 2008     Dr. Robert Provencher
  • 2007     Dr. Raymond Sullivan


 Certification Impact Award

The Certification Impact Award (formerly the Golden Key Award) is awarded to acknowledge an individual for their efforts to promote certification. It is the highest honor awarded by the Certification Commission of NAMSS (“CCN”). The Certification Impact Award is further intended to acknowledge nominees who exemplify the NAMSS Certificants’ Code of Ethics through their dedication to certification. A nominee shall demonstrate this dedication by sharing knowledge, fostering education, and encouraging personal/professional growth in the medical services profession that inspires individuals to certification.

Certification Impact Award Nominee Submission

Certification Impact Award Winners 

  • 2022     Angela Lambdin, CPCS, CPMSM*
  • 2021     Marcy K. Lechner, CPCS, CPMSM*
  • 2020     Barbara Ortolf, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2019      Michelle Bird, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2018      Karen Reed-Coffman, MBA, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2017      Janice Swan, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2016      Angela Stokes-Middleton, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2015      Merella Schandl, BS, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2014      Becky Boyrie, CPMSM*
  • 2013      Susan Manion-Galloway, BS, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2012      Janet Wilson, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2011       Patricia McCurdy, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2010      Anne Roberts, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2009     Arlene Becton, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2008      Paula Hickman, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2007      Glenda Shaffer, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2006      Beckie Watson, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2005      Janice Sohn, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2004      Kathryn Enchelmayer, CPMSM, CPCS*
  • 2003      Cheryl L. Schilke, RN, CPMSM*
  • 2002      Gloria Aronoff, CMSC, CPCS*
  • 2001      Suzette Pulliam, CMSC, CPCS*

* This individual won the Golden Key Award.

ICON Award 

The ICON (Inspirational Commitment to the Organization NAMSS) Award is presented to an individual or group who has demonstrated success in heightening awareness of NAMSS and elevating the esteem of, the medical services profession. The award may be presented annually. NAMSS Board members may not nominate recipients for this award. 

ICON Nominee Submission

ICON Award Winners 

  • 2020    Michael Callahan, Esq.
  • 2013     Sara Reed, CPCS & Samantha McMahon, Logistics Health Incorporated
  • 2012     Wisconsin Association Medical Staff Services
  • 2010     Debbie R. Woods, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2005     Rebecca Cochran, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2004     CAMSS - Ask Me What I Do


Joan Covell-Carpenter Award 

The Joan Covell-Carpenter Award (in honor of Joan Covell-Carpenter who was one of the founders of NAMSS) is presented annually for an article written by a member and published in Synergy.   

Joan Covell-Carpenter Award Winners 

  • 2022    Sherrie Malmad, MHA, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2021    Brenda Hunsberger, MNA, CPMSM
  • 2020    Maureen Kozlowski, CPCS, CPMSM | Telemedicine: A Challenge with Great Rewards
  • 2019     Monica Martin, CPCS | Taking the Leap: Transitioning to MSP Leadership
  • 2018     Suzanne Cummings, CPCS & Molly Frankwick | How the Interstate Medical Licensure Compact  Affects MSPs
  • 2017     Kathy Matzka, CPMSM, CPCS | Is it Time to Rewrite the Healthcare Quality Improvement Act of  1986?
  • 2016     Suzanne Cummings, CPCS & Kari Winder | Navigating the MOC Maze
  • 2015     Vicki Searcy: Standardization Versus the Art of Credentialing
  • 2014     Amy Meyer, CPCS| Improving Processes and Results Through Collaboration
  • 2013     Dorothy Zelenik, CPMSM, CPCS| Credentialing with the Lights Out
  • 2012     Bonnie Conley, CPCS| Preparing NAMSS for the Next Generation of MSP s Through the Use of                Technology
  • 2011      Marita Hattem, CPMSM| Remember Tenerife
  • 2010     Joanne Rigsbee, CPMSM| Medical Staff Mergers
  • 2009     Rita Schwab, CPMSM, CPCS| Ugly Truth About Credentialing -Part 1 & 2
  • 2008     Dennis Brown, CPMSM, CPCS| What I Learned from a Recent Fair Hearing
  • 2007     Frances Ponsioen, CPMSM, CPCS| Thank You
  • 2006     Anne Roberts, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2005     Linda Haack, MHA, CPHQ
  • 2004     Amy Niehaus, MBA, CPMSM, CPCS
  • 2003     Marlene Fenoglietto
  • 2002     Lynn Buchanan, CMSC, CPCS and Christine Mobley, CMSC, CPCS
  • 2001     Madeline Schneikart, CMSC